Moonsign,
Sunsign
and More
by Jenny Yates

July 15 to 29, 2016


What sign is the moon in?  What signs do the planets occupy?  
What is the current lunar cycle about?  

For the aspects currently affecting everyone,
click here.  

And for a daily overview,
click here.   

Venus is in Gemini

In Gemini, Venus is devoted to
intellectual pleasures.  This can mean
anything from crossword puzzles to
lectures on Medieval candle magic.   

It's especially good for scintillating
conversation.  Everyone is wittier and
more interesting, and everyone is
quicker to respond to your ripostes.
(And they're ready to repost
everything you write, too.)  

And yes, it's a good time for puns.  
Try to control yourself.    

Venus will be in Gemini until July 4.   

Venus entered Gemini
in NYC: Thurs, June 9, 10:23 am
in Vancouver: Thurs, June 9, 7:23 am
in London: Thurs, June 9, 3:23 pm
in Berlin:  Thurs, June 9, 4:23 pm


The Moon


moves into Sagittarius
in NYC: Fri, July 15, 5:14 am
in Vancouver: Fri, July 15, 2:14 am
in London: Fri, July 15, 10:14 am
in Singapore: Fri, July 15, 5:14 pm  
in Sydney: Fri, July 15, 7:14 pm

moves into Capricorn
in NYC:  Sun, July 17, 3:32 pm
in Vancouver: Sun, July 17, 12:32 pm  
in London: Sun, July 17, 8:32 pm
in Singapore: Mon, July 18, 3:32 am
in Sydney: Mon, July 18, 5:32 am


moves into Aquarius
in NYC: Tues, July 19, 11:10 pm
in Vancouver: Tues, July 19, 8:10 pm
in London: Weds, July 20, 4:10 am
in Singapore: Weds, July 20, 11:10 am   
in Sydney: Weds, July 20, 1:10 pm   

moves into Pisces
in NYC: Fri, July 22, 4:35 am
in Vancouver: Fri, July 22, 1:35 am
in London: Fri, July 22, 9:35 am  
in Singapore: Fri, July 22, 4:35 pm  
in Sydney: Fri, July 22, 6:35 pm

moves into Aries
in NYC: Sun, July 24, 8:32 am
in Vancouver: Sun, July 24, 5:32 am  
in London: Sun, July 24, 1:32 pm  
in Singapore: Sun, July 24, 8:32 pm  
in Sydney: Sun, July 24, 10:32 pm

moves into Taurus
in NYC: Tues, July 26, 11:37 am  
in Vancouver: Tues, July 26, 8:37 am  
in London: Tues, July 26, 4:37 pm  
in Singapore: Tues, July 26, 11:37 pm     
in Sydney: Weds, July 27, 1:37 am

moves into Gemini
in NYC: Thurs, July 28, 2:16 pm
in Vancouver: Thurs, July 28, 11:16 am
in London: Thurs, July 28, 7:16 pm
in Singapore: Fri, July 29, 2:16 am  
in Sydney: Fri, July 29, 4:16 am  

moves into Cancer
in NYC:  Sat, July 30, 5:08 pm
in Vancouver: Sat, July 30, 2:08 pm  
in London: Sat, July 30, 10:08 pm
in Singapore: Sun, July 31, 5:08 am
in Sydney: Sun, July 31, 7:08 am

What does the
moon's sign tell
you?

See
Moon Signs and
Lunar Transits

Pluto is in Capricorn


Pluto has to do with the slowest, most relentless and most
inexorable trends.  In spite of being demoted from planet
status, it's still very influential when it comes to social
transformation.  

As soon as Pluto entered this pragmatic, restrained ascetic
sign, the economy took a very different shape.  Everyone
switched from spending and speculating to worrying and
saving.  The emphasis is on what works, not necessarily
what feels good.

This is a long-term conservative influence, but the word
"conservative" can mean a lot of different things.  It could
mean conserving the land, and becoming better stewards
of the earth.  It could mean conserving the wisdom of our
elders.  It could mean looking to the people who have spent
their lives developing practical skills and asking, "Okay,
how do we do this?"

Pluto has been in Capricorn since November 2008 and will
be here until March 2023.  

Saturn is in Sagittarius

Saturn is the planet of structure, duty and
responsibility, but it cuts loose a bit in
Sagittarius.  Sagittarius is expansive, and so it
lends itself to bigger, more ambitious
structures.  You want to create systems that
are solid and lasting, but that will fulfill some of
your larger ambitions as well.  

You see your responsibilities as part of a larger
picture these days.  
You’re thinking about the community as a
whole, about the future, about the world you
live in.  And this gives a little edge of
excitement to mundane plans.  

Rome was built brick by brick, with great
attention to structure, right?  And when it was
done, there it was:  a gorgeous, cosmopolitan
city.  You’re thinking that some of your
structures may have the same grandeur when
they’re done, and you’re willing to put time and
attention into the process, to make sure that
they’re the best they can be.  You can defer
gratification, but you don’t want to deny your
visions.  

During the years that Saturn is in Sagittarius,
there will be an emphasis on thinking
internationally.  People who have lived insular
lives will become acquainted with a lot of
people who are very different from them.  
Languages and cultural literacy will become
serious business, more codified. There will be
classes, exams, promotions, on the basis of
excellence in these fields.  

Higher education itself will grow in prestige
during this period, and more people will get
college credit for traveling.  They’ll go off to
distant parts of the globe, and learn from
people who have figured out efficient and
sustainable ways to live on this earth. There
will also be a lot of tourists out there, visiting
parts of the planet that will vanish or change
utterly as the climate changes.  

Saturn will be in Sagittarius until December 19,
2017.  

Saturn entered Sagittarius
in NYC: Thurs, Sept 17, 10:49 pm
in Vancouver: Thurs, Sept 17,
7:49 pm  
in London: Fri, Sept 18, 3:49 am  
in Singapore: Fri, Sept 18,
10:49 am    
in Sydney: Fri, Sept 18, 12:49 pm  

The sun is in Cancer

Happy summer solstice!  Cancer is a warm,
sweet, nurturing sign, and as the sun moves
through this sign, people spend more time
laughing, crying, hugging, and being
sentimental.  There is an emphasis on caring for
others, and protecting those who are
vulnerable.  Your children will be more likely to
bring street urchins home to dinner, and to adopt
all the lost animals they find.  

At the same time, because feelings are so
strong, everyone can be a little moodier while the
sun’s in Cancer.  One minute, your lover gives
you the shirt off her back, and the next minute
she’s pouting because you forgot to praise her
bread pudding.  People can be needier, more
dependent on each other.  If you’re normally a
person who goes solo, you may get a little too
much togetherness during this sunsign.  On the
other hand, it might be nice to have a lot of
friendly people watching your back for a change.

Whenever the sun goes through a water sign,
sensitivity is increased.  So you’re picking up
what other people are feeling, whether they
admit it or not.  You’re picking up the vibes in
your environment, even if it’s not quite clear
where these vibes are coming from.  You may be
sensing what that silent person over in the
corner is going through, or you may be in touch
with something that happened in this room forty
years ago.  It’s a time when psychic abilities are
increased, but it still takes some practice to use
them effectively.       

The sun will be here until July 22.  

The sun entered Cancer
in NYC:  Mon, June 20, 6:34 pm
in Vancouver: Mon, June 20, 3:34 pm
in London: Mon, June 20, 11:34 pm
in Singapore: Tues, June 21, 6:34 am   
in Sydney: Tues, June 21, 8:34 am   

The Current Lunar Cycle
(16° Cancer)

This is an emotional lunar cycle. People are more
sensitive, more apt to cry at movies, to hug each other,
and to gush at every cute baby that passes by.  The
Cancer influence is very strong at the new moon, so

there’s also a very strong attachment to home and
family.  In the US, this new moon coincides with
Independence Day, so it should bring out all kinds of high-
pitched but heartfelt patriotic displays.

There’s also a bit of magic, since the sun and moon trine
the planet of poetry, Neptune.  Neptune makes it very
easy to by hypnotized, and to enter altered states.  You
go into an antique music store, and suddenly find
yourself playing the piano, even though you’ve never
taken lessons.  Are you channeling some ancestor who
was an accomplished musician?  This is the kind of thing
that can happen under this influence, and throughout the
lunar cycle.  

All new moons are good for dreaming new possibilities
into life, and this one gives vivid and mesmerizing
dreams, so it’s especially good.  So take some time to
visualize whatever makes you feel happiest, healthiest
and most fulfilled.  

However, there’s also a close Saturn/Neptune square at
the new moon, and that can mean that it’s also easy to be
taken in.  You could find a succession of clowns,
hucksters and charletons at your doorstep, or in your
inbox.  Be cautious, and use your intuition freely. If
something doesn’t smell right, there’s a good chance it’s
all wrong for you, so let it pass by.   

This lunar cycle lasts until the next new moon on August
2.  Its climactic moment is the full moon on July 19.   

The new moon occurred
in NYC: Mon, July 4, 7:01 am
in Vancouver: Mon, July 4, 4:01 am  
in London: Mon, July 4, 12:01 pm  
in Singapore: Mon, July 4, 7:01 pm  
in Sydney: Mon, July 4, 9:01 pm

Mars is in Scorpio

Mars is more intense in Scorpio, more
dramatic, and more emotional.  Everyone feels
more strongly about everything, and people
are more likely to go to extremes.  There will
be more laughing and crying, more
explosions, more colorful reactions of all kinds.

However, this is also a time when you can
channel your energies very powerfully and
persistently towards one particular goal.  You
are determined, focused, stubborn, and
intractable.  When you want to do something,
no matter how difficult it is, you call up
reserves of strength and you are able to
manage it.

Desires are very strong with Mars in this sign,
and the sexual atmosphere could get a bit
dense at times.  Whatever is forbidden holds a
particular allure.  If you usually have a hard
time with impulse control, it will be harder when
Mars is in Scorpio, and you might want to ask
your crew-mates to lash you to the mast. If you’
re normally very restrained, you might be
surprised at the things you feel a sudden urge
to do.   

Mars will be here until August 2.

Mars entered Scorpio      
in NYC: Fri, May 27, 9:51 am
in Vancouver: Fri, May 27, 6:51 am
in London: Fri, May 27, 2:51 pm
in Singapore: Fri, May 27, 9:51 pm  
in Sydney: Fri, May 27, 11:51 pm

Mercury is in Leo

This is all about the Voice of Authority.  Some
people have it naturally, and they thrive when
Mercury is in Leo.  Other people are shy and
retiring, but they are also more likely to speak up
with confidence when Mercury is in this sign.  

It’s not just about being sure you’re right – although
that’s definitely a good part of it.  But Mercury in
Leo offers more, when it comes to communication
skills.  It gives warmth, passion, enthusiasm, and
honesty, and so people find it easier to
understand and appreciate each other.  Leo is not
a cerebral sign, and so you pick up more from
body language and expression than you do from
the actual words.  Shared experiences count more
than anything anybody says. And this is enough to
kindle lasting friendships and a few love affairs
besides.  

Leo is a very creative and expressive sign, so
artists of all kinds can enjoy Mercury in Leo.  It’s
especially good for performance artists, since Leo
is so dramatic.  Singers and poets can move
people not just by the words but by the tone and
nuance and rhythm of their voices.  

However, there are likely to be more arguments
during this Mercury sign, because the sense of
being right gets notched up to a new level.  There’
s more ego invested in the things people say and
believe.  It definitely helps that Mercury in Leo also
inclines to laughter, although it won’t necessarily
deescalate conflict if you laugh in your opponent’s
face.  But later, when you’re talking about it,
laughter is good.  

Mercury will be here until July 30.   

Mercury enter
ed Leo
in NYC: Weds, July 13, 8:46 pm
in Vancouver: Weds, July 13, 5:46 pm  
in London: Thurs, July 14, 1:46 am  
in Singapore: Thurs, July 14, 8:46 am     
in Sydney: Thurs, July 14, 10:46 am  

Venus is in Leo

Venus is at her most charming, flamboyant and
dramatic in the fire sign Leo.  You’re more
inclined to adorn yourself with diamonds and
flowers, and to put in an appearance at the
swankiest places you know.  Even if you’re
generally a modest soul, Venus in Leo can
give a sudden desire to shine, to see what
center stage feels like.

Everybody gets a moment in the sun while
Venus is here.  There’s a stronger emphasis
on expressing yourself, and this means
singing, dancing, flirting, partying, playing,
performing.  Whatever you do, you have an
appreciative audience.  And you, in turn, enjoy
the high energy and the varied talents of all
the people around you.  Whether you’re
croaking out a tune at a karaoke bar, or
singing around a campfire, you join in with a
good spirit.  

For lovers, this is a romantic time, good for
stirring proclamations of ardor. Everyone is
warmer and more excitable, and spontaneous
demonstrations of affection come easily.   You’
re also likely to think of the perfect gifts for the
ones you love.  

Those who tend to be domineering or
demanding will be more so under this
influence, however.  So at times, there may be
some need to set limits, to say “no”, and to
take space for yourself.  

Venus will be here until August 5.     

Venus enter
ed Leo
in NYC: Tues, July 12, 1:34 am
in Vancouver:  Mon, July 11, 10:34 pm  
in London: Tues, July 12, 6:34 am
in Singapore: Tues, July 12, 1:34 pm  
in Sydney: Tues, July 12, 3:34 pm

Jupiter is in Virgo

Jupiter enters a new sign yearly, so this could be considered
the astrologer’s New Year.  Jupiter’s effect is to expand the
characteristics of its sign, and so the coming year will be more
practical and realistic.  Virgo is an analytic, discriminating,
perceptive sign.   

People will generally become geekier, more interested in
science and technology, and this will make for a welcome
change.  This could be the year when climate change finally is
accepted as fact, and when there’s a stronger push towards
practical solutions.  People will work harder, and often they’ll
work together, to preserve the environment that shelters and
nurtures us all.  

There will be less of an emphasis on belief systems, and more
of an emphasis on things that can improve people’s lives in
the moment.  And instead of flashy things giving status,
people will gain more status from living in a green,
sustainable, somewhat rustic way.  This is a good year for
working out all sorts of alternate systems to replace the ones
that are falling apart, or that never worked well to begin with.

Health will be an important theme this year.  As people
understand more about what makes for health, hopefully
there will be a gradual recognition that what’s good for big
business is often bad for the public health.  It’s not a flashy,
revolutionary year, so this might not manifest in a big revolt.  
However, a lot of small choices could add up to some big
changes.   

The shadow side of Jupiter in Virgo is a tendency to be a bit
too much of a purist about everything. Health nuts will be
nuttier, and techno-geeks will be geekier.  Everybody is
looking for something that works, and when they find it, they
will have a hard time understanding why everybody else
doesn’t adopt this perfect system, practice or technology. At
least the arguments will involve lots of graphs and research
results, rather than personal insults.           

Jupiter will be here until September 9, 2016.  

Jupiter entered Virgo.
in NYC: Tues, Aug 11, 7:11 am  
in Vancouver: Tues, Aug 11, 4:11 am  
in London: Tues, Aug 11, 12:11 pm    
in Singapore: Tues, Aug 11, 7:11 pm    
in Sydney: Tues, Aug 11, 9:11 pm  

The sun enters Leo

The sun is exuberant in its own sign, Leo.  Everyone is
encouraged to live a little bit more loudly:  to be more
dramatic, to express themselves, to shine.  People who are
comfortable in the spotlight are even happier to be there
when the sun is in Leo.  People who are shyer gain
confidence as they see how much fun everybody else is
having.  And audiences are also greatly appreciated when
the sun is in this sign.  

This is a nice time for children, and it brings out the child in
all of us.  It’s a time to soak up the sun, to be free and
playful, to sing and dance, to clown around, to climb trees
and look at the view from above.  Everything is out in the
open, there’s freedom and high spirits and bright colors,
and people are living for the moment.  

There can also be quite a lot of jousting while the sun is
here.  Some battles for dominance are just for show, but
others are quite serious.  This is the time when the alpha
dog may have to deal with a lot of challenges from the
lesser dogs.  There is more posturing, and social events
may become fabulous and outrageous affairs during the
sun’s sojourn in Leo.  

The sun will be here until August 22.  

The sun enters Leo
in NYC:  Fri, July 22, 5:30 am
in Vancouver: Fri, July 22, 2:30 am
in London: Fri, July 22, 10:30 am
in Singapore: Fri, July 22, 5:30 pm   
in Sydney: Fri, July 22, 7:30 pm

Uranus is in Aries


This is the revolutionary planet in the revolutionary sign, so
you know some stuff is going to happen while it's here -
mainly, during the next seven years.

This is about liberation.  It's about freedom.   It's about
looking at the fixed structures that rule our lives, figuring out
which ones limit us, and dismantling them.

There's a fast, reckless rhythm about Uranus in Aries;  it's
not always the wisest approach.  There's an urge for
immediate, spontaneous action, and so people rush into
things without stopping to think.  Every moment is charged
with creative fire.      

It's pretty exciting.  But it's definitely not a calm influence.  
Everyone will need to stop and take some deep breaths
once in a while.

Uranus will be here until May 2018.

Uranus entered Aries
in NYC:  Fri, Mar 11, 2011, 7:49 pm
in Vancouver: Fri, Mar 11, 2011, 4:49 pm
in London:  Sat, Mar 12,2011, 12:49 am
in Berlin:  Sat, Mar 12, 2011, 1:49 am
in Sydney:  Sat, Mar 12, 2011, 11:49 am

Neptune is in Pisces

This could be a time of beautiful spiritual
flowering, a time when large numbers of people
open up their hearts and connect with each
other. The idealism of Neptune becomes deeply
intuitive, emotional and sympathetic when this
planet goes through Pisces.

The matter of faith is likely to be paramount as
Neptune goes through this sign.  Who and what
do we trust?  People will have a stronger need
to believe in something (or someone), and this
can mean that some folks will be preyed upon by
unscrupulous con men. A gullible populace isn't
always good at picking leaders, so it will be
important to talk as clearly and fully as
possible about all the issues of the day. Open
communication is important and protective
during this period.      

Neptune is the planet of the strange, so things
may take odd turns.  Everyone will be a little
more susceptible to illusions, confusion,
fascinations, and poetic deliriums.  New drugs
could make an appearance – both medicinal
and recreational -  and new healing techniques
be developed.  Creativity is enhanced by
Neptune in this sign, especially when it comes to
rhythmic forms like music and poetry, and to the
arts of illusion such as theatre and film. We
could see the flowering of some amazing new art-
forms.  

Religious institutions get new life from
Neptune’s passage through Pisces, but only if
they offer a true connection with the wisdom of
the inner self.  It’s not a time for dogma, but for
breaking down all artificial divisions and merging
with the infinite.  

Neptune will be here until March 2025.  

Neptune entered Pisces
in NYC:  Fri, Feb 3, 2012, 2:03 pm
in Vancouver: Fri, Feb 3, 2012,
11:03 am
in London:  Fri, Feb 3,2012, 7:03 pm
in Berlin: Fri, Feb 3, 2012, 8:03 pm
in Sydney: Sat, Feb 4, 2012, 6:03 am